projects

Making the Most of Sleepless Nights

ready

Dear readers, as you might already know, this blog is as much about my sewing journey than the clothes I sew. So I feel inclined to share a slice of my life story with you. In the past few years, I have been dealing with bouts of insomnia. I mean waking up at the time when I used to go to bed way back in those good old college days…. Not fun!

What are you supposed to do when you’re wide awake at 4 in the morning? I usually make myself a cup of coffee and head to my sewing room (far enough from my sleeping hubby). But what is your alertness level when you wake up in the middle of the night you might ask? Well, funny enough, some days, I’m at 100%, and some days I’m not!

Earlier this week, I had 2-3 nights in a row of 4 hours of sleep. And one night in particular, I started sewing the patch pockets on this crepe jumpsuit that I have been working on for about 2 weeks. That morning, I did everything wrong that you can think of (think patch pockets on the back of your shirt!). I had such little concentration that it took me 2 full hours to unpick what I had done that morning.

I can now laugh about it because the black crepe jumpsuit turned out just fine. It only took a few more hours than anticipated. And just in case you were wondering how many more jumpsuits I am going to make, I’ll tell you, I’m going to milk this trend as long as I can!

20170204_111824_1486225318616

simplicity-sportswear-pattern-8060-envelope-front
Simplicity 8060

This jumpsuit is based on pattern Simplicity 8060 a Mimi G design. The 100% medium-weight polyester crepe was sourced from my favorite fabric store, Fabricville.

Pattern modifications:

    • Sewed the pants portion without a fly opening because the waist was large enough.
    • Modified the pants front pockets and sewed patch pockets.
    • Used the shirt pocket only and not the flap.
    • Omitted the shirt collar.
    • Switched the drawstring waist for an elastic and a belt.
    • Added length to the top and bottom parts of the jumpsuit.
Leave a Reply

