Uncategorized

Livin’ the Vida Loca

Just got back from wonderful Dominican Republic for a week’s worth of fun under the sun. As with any vacation, I always have lots of fun planning my wardrobe. For this specific trip, I made a long dress, a jumpsuit and a swimsuit cover-up.

A few months ago, I saw a blog post by the very talented Oonaballoona. She made the Kielo dress by Named patterns in a beautiful bright floral. I was immediately convinced to purchase this pattern. I used a dark blue stretch poly/lycra blend I had bought at Club Tissus for another project. The dress pattern was fairly easy to sew but unfortunately my machine hated sewing every inch of this fabric.

00000270_1471139765917

The other outfit I made for the trip is the black and cream ikat print rayon jumpsuit from Fabricville. The pattern is a mash-up of last year’s Great British Sewing Bee Jumpsuit (the bottom part) and a tank top pattern that I got somewhere else. The results are good however due to the high humidity, the fabric stretched out by about one full size. The jumpsuit looks way too long and loose on this picture.20160805_182008

The fabric I picked for the kaftan is a coral cotton voile from my local Fabricville. The pattern is the Medina mini-caftan from Hot Patterns. The only modification I made is that I omitted the waist ties. I absolutely love the way it turned out. 20160731_102128

It might be a tad late in the summer for me to consider sewing a romper but the lovely gals at Sew So Easy just released the Salina Easy Romper pattern. Even better, this pattern is available for free on Craftsy.com. I believe that this romper might just be the ultimate summer item missing from my summer wardrobe. It can be whipped up pretty quickly and easily using some lightweight jersey or woven fabric.

Now that the vacation is over, I am trying to plan my fall-winter sewing. Do you have any suggestions?

 

2 thoughts on “Livin’ the Vida Loca

  1. Every time I see the Kielo dress made up I get more and more tempted to buy it and yours is no exception! A gorgeous colour on you and looks fab with red lipstick. You’re giving me serious holiday wardrobe inspiration, the gbsb mash up is great!
    Winter sewing plans, I love kommatia pattern jumpers and some ginger jeans? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Meg for your kind words! I did not know about Kommatia until now. I absolutely love their style…their bodysuit is gorgeous. Did you know that the Ginger jeans pattern is designed by a fellow Montrealer? I am more into boyfriend/girlfriend jeans right now (a bit more wiggle room) so I might give Closet Case’s Morgan jeans a chance. I also have some dark teal jersey that is screaming to be turned into a Kielo dress with long sleeves. Or I could turn my black stretch lace into the Kommatia bodysuit I just saw a minute ago. You have given me plenty of options…thank you 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

