projects · Uncategorized

Jalie 3461 Eleonore Pull-On Jeans

Jalie Eleonore Pull-On Jeans

During the Holidays, I had the time to start and finish a mock-up of these pull-on jeans. My mock-up was made using a sparkly navy stretch cotton with probably than 10% stretch. The pants ended up a bit too tight. With the right fabric, they would be fine, except that I would need to add a bit of length to the center back seam to cover my backside.

For the “real” pair, I used black stretch bengaline (poly/lycra blend from Club Tissus). Here are the modifications I made to the pattern:

  • lengthening the pants by one inch,
  • increasing the center back length by 0.5 inch.
  • slimming the leg by .25 inch at the knee and by .5 inch at the ankle (to turn these jeans in skinnies.)
JalieEleonoreFrontJalieEleonoreBack

The end result is a great-fitting pair of skinny pants that I can wear with just about anything! They are so easy to wear. The flat front is very convenient with longer tops. In my opinion, the only tricky part about this pattern was the pockets. On my first pair, the pockets looked a bit better than my second pair. The stretch bengaline is not really easy to maneuver when sewing curves so it stretched out a bit. However, this is a minor thing. I love the end result. I might make another pair this spring in a stretch cotton sateen or twill, any fabric with a little bit more body (I hope) will bunch up less in the back of my thighs.

Have you put this pattern on your list of projects for 2016? Tell me all about it!

Leave a Reply

